top of page

2021-2022 Executive Team 


President – Kathryn Cheng

Kathryn Cheng is the Chair of the Women in Mining Student Chapter at the University of Toronto. She is in her third year of undergrad pursuing a geology specialist and chemistry major, with a passion for geochemistry. Kathryn is interested in diversity, equity, and inclusion advocacy, particularly in the STEM community. As chair of Women in Mining UofT, she hopes to inform students about diverse careers in the geosciences, and how we can help to combat gender inequalities in the geoscience and mining workforces.


Vice President – Zeynep Uzunel

Zeynep Uzunel (she/her) is the vice-president for the UofT WIM Chapter. She is a second-year environmental geoscience specialist who wants to explore the physical world through science and advocates for accessibility to STEM education. She also aspires to challenge the gender inequalities in geosciences and be involved in the Earth Science community to increase diversity, equity and inclusion.


Treasurer – Katherine Bormann

Katherine Bormann is a third-year undergraduate geology specialist at the University of Toronto. She is interested in promoting gender equality, both in the department and beyond, and is excited to contribute to the U of T Earth Sciences community this year through Women In Mining.


Secretary – Mrinmayee Sengupta

Mrinmayee is the Secretary for the UofT WIM Chapter. She is in her fourth year in a Physical and Environmental Geography specialist, Geoscience minor and GIS minor. She's passionate about ecological restoration, remediation, and the representation of non-Western ideas and perspectives in the Earth Sciences.


Earth Science Representative – Clémence Korwin-Szymanowska

Clemence Korwin-Szymanowska is the Earth Science Representative of the Women in Mining Student Chapter at the University of Toronto. She is in her third year pursuing a geology specialist and political science minor. She is passionate about exploration, sustainability in geology and international relations.


Website Coordinator – Grace Wei

Grace Wei is a third-year undergraduate student at the University of Toronto pursuing majors in Environmental Science and Environmental Biology with a minor in Geoscience. She has an interest in science communication and education, particularly in the fields of sustainability and the environment. As a member of Women in Mining UofT, Grace aspires to promote awareness, equity, and diversity in mining and associated industries.


Faculty Advisor – Melissa Anderson

Melissa Anderson is an assistant professor of economic geology at the University of Toronto. Her work focuses on understanding how geodynamic processes in subduction zones control upper crustal permeability and the formation of long-lived magmatic-hydrothermal systems. She is passionate about mentoring students as they explore career paths in exploration, mining, and related industries, with an emphasis on addressing challenges facing women and minorities in these fields.


Past Chair – Jessica Patterson

Jessica Patterson completed an honours B.Sc at the University of Toronto Specializing in Geology and Majoring in Biodiversity and Conservation Biology, with a particular focus in the development in modeling for resource geology. She was employed by Agnico Eagle and is currently pursuing a career in exploration geology.

bottom of page